• Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log In with Steam Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Photo

Joystick Recommendations

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Spacepope

Spacepope

• 10 posts
  • LocationUnited Kingdom

Posted 20 May 2014 - 07:18 AM

Hi everyone,

I'm think of picking up a Joystick for the imminent release of the dog fighting module. I have never used one before but am tempted by something like the SAITEK X52 (http://www.saitek.co...llery/x52_2.jpg). Would love to hear your personal recommendations!

#2 Ulfberht

Ulfberht

Advanced Member

• 64 posts
  • LocationOregon

Posted 20 May 2014 - 11:07 AM

That one looks nice. I have a ST290pro I bought at good will for $5. Ideally I will probably end up with something like the Saitek x52 but since I've spent  $642 on Star Citizen and upgrading my machine, I don't have a budget for peripherals just yet.  I will probably be doing dual $5 goodwill joysticks until I have more cash for these things. On the priority list first is track IR. By the time I'm ready to buy the Saitek x52 I may be comfortable with two joysticks....

This episode of Tales of Citizen show goes really in depth into Star Citizen peripherals and was very informative for me.  It is an hour and a half long.. not quite as to the point as Wes I'll admit.

#3 Icidian

Icidian

Advanced Member

• 37 posts
  • LocationPortland, OR

Posted 20 May 2014 - 07:08 PM

Do we know what the developers are using?

"In valor there is hope."

#4 Ulfberht

Ulfberht

Advanced Member

• 64 posts
  • LocationOregon

Posted 21 May 2014 - 01:52 PM

I believe a lot of them are using game pads but from my understanding the reason is to show off the 3rd person view and not as much for performance.

#5 Spacepope

Spacepope

• 10 posts
  • LocationUnited Kingdom

Posted 22 May 2014 - 02:43 AM

Thanks for the link ULfberht.